Thank you for your post.
Overheating should not delete all records. At the worst, if a new record isn't initially saved, then any data entered into the fields (including related records) would be lost.
Check to see if the customer has more than one instance of a file, and see if a different file was opened.
For the future, consider creating accounts that don't allow users to Delete All Records.