1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 12, 2011 8:49 AM by martygearbox

offline filemaker go

user14275

Title

offline filemaker go

Hi, I have a couple of questions / ideas for using filemaker go if anyone can point me in the right direction it would be great. I must point out I am new to filemaker / filemaker go so please accept my appology's in advance if I say somthing daft or out of line.

What I want to do is create a solution for where I work for on the road sales people. I would like to use a Ipad , preferably the new ipad2 along with filemaker go installed. Then have a backend with a VPN and file maker advanced, then use filemaker Pro to create the solution.

My main issue is that I want the solution to be able to operate when the iPad's cant connect to a WiFi or 3G network. I would like to be able to intergrate several databases but have one main portal / solution on the face of it to the user so that different users can pull updated versions of some databases when they can connect and push some databases / data back when they connect perferably with buttons running scripts in the background.

I understand there is no direct Sync support which I think is a real shame from my point of view but I figure with a bit of creativity there must be a way round this. I would like to be able to pull a stock database that just holds say stock codes and current levels. Then if a sales person creates an order I was thinking rather than saving everything in the main database in filemaker Go on the Ipad have a transaction database that can be pushed back.

I would like to do the pushing and pulling direct from Filemaker Go if at all posible rather than needing to connect the iPad to a computer and use itunes.