10 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2014 9:16 AM by philmodjunk

Ongoing development with data entry - concern

LeviGeorge

Title

Ongoing development with data entry - concern

Greetings!

I've been using Filemaker for a little over 6-7 months now, and I got a little side job from a friend to develop a FileMaker Database for his business.

I'm already several months into this development and have given him a "rough draft" version of the database That he uses with his iPad. He has entered data into it and I have furthered development of the database separately from him adding data. I've added layouts and scripts and more databases. I do my work on FMPro and he is using FMGo to do all his data entry.

My issue/concern is how to "join" or "sync" the two pieces together to prevent data loss when I improve his "rough draft" design I gave him into what I currently have.

What is the process to do such a thing.

Thanks to anyone who can help me with this.

~Levi

• 1. Re: Ongoing development with data entry - concern
          TSGal

Levi George:

Thank you for your post.

Before others chime in with their experience, here is some reading material you may (or may not) find useful:

Knowledge Base Article #7720 - "Database syncing - an overview of approaches"
          http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7720

FileMaker Sync Guide - Best practices for building your own system
          http://www.filemaker.com/solutions/ios/docs/fmi_guide_sync_en.pdf

Outside of building your own syncing mechanism, there are at least two third-party utilities that will sync FileMaker Go with FileMaker Pro.

GoZync by Seedcode
          http://solutions.filemaker.com/made-for-filemaker/detail.jsp?id=solution.10000003798

MirrorSync by 360Works
          http://solutions.filemaker.com/made-for-filemaker/detail.jsp?id=solution.10000003783

TSGal
               FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: Ongoing development with data entry - concern
            philmodjunk