9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2015 1:51 AM by NancyBaths

Understanding Pro / Go

MikeGuilbault

Title

Understanding Pro / Go

I'm trying to understand how I can use FM Go. I'm new to FileMaker and haven't worked on databases since before Windows. 

I'd like to create a database for my art Gallery to track artists and consignments. I'm a single user so don't need access for anyone else, but Id like the data on my iPad so I can be mobile around the Gallery. I have a WiFi network. Will that work?

• 1. Re: Understanding Pro / Go
          eoin

In a nutshell filemaker Pro is the  development platform for the database. It is used to either host the database after you have created it with FM Pro and allow filemaker go iOS clients to access it over the network or Wan as a multi user database. Or you can download the database in it's entirety onto the iiOS device after creating it in FM Pro and use it as a stand alone database on the device using FM Go.

Explore the differences between FM Pro advanced and standard FM Pro before deciding which is more suitable for your needs. In any case you will need a version of FM Pro to do the development of your application as no development or design functionality is available in FMGo.

From a personal perspective I would suggest hosting the file on the FM Pro machine and using the iPad as a client, this arrangement would allow you amend your layouts on the FM Pro host and have them immediately available on the iPad rather than having to synch data and re-upload the amended files to the iPad. When you finalise your database structure and layouts you can always just upload the complete file to the iPad and dispense with the FM Pro host. It's just something to consider during the development stages.

• 2. Re: Understanding Pro / Go
            philmodjunk