6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2011 4:50 PM by DarlaJohnson

Aligning object on a layout

DarlaJohnson

Title

Aligning object on a layout

Your post

Hi,

I'm new to FM 11 Pro.  How to I align objects so that they look like an Excel spreadsheet?  IE, on top of each other and next to each other.

Thanks so much!

Darla

• 1. Re: Aligning object on a layout
          TSDuck

Hi Darla Johnson:

Thanks for posting.

FileMaker Pro 11 already has a layout view called table view which is set up like an excel spreadsheet.  This view places your fields in columns and each record is its own row.  Table view will automatically add in the fields you create from manage database.  You can reach table view with the following steps.  With your database open, click on the view menu at the top.  One of the options should be View as Table.  Select this option and your layout will turn into a spreadsheet view of your data.  Records and fields can be added while in table view, along with easy access to various reporting functions.

TSDuck

FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: Aligning object on a layout
            DarlaJohnson

Hi,

Sorry, the reply doesn't answer my questions.

#1.  Can I develop on a PC platform and push the database to a server and have iPad users access via Filemaker Go OR do I have to develop on a Mac desktop for iPad users to access the database.

#2.  Alignment question.  I understand layout view.  What I'm asking is let's say I'm adding an address block and I want the fields to align such that the first line is Name, second line is address 1, third line is City, State and Zip.  Is there a way to quickly select the entire block and have then name text box align next to the name lable.  The Address1 label and text box align to the bottom of the name label and name text box.

I've been going into inspector and manually setting the top of the second line to the bottom position of the top line.

Thanks,

Darla

• 3. Re: Aligning object on a layout
              TSDuck