1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 7, 2015 11:33 AM by erawson

Directional advice for complete FMP server newbie

calexmac

Title

Directional advice for complete FMP server newbie

Your post

I am looking to use FMP Server and am seeking some broad directions.  I have plenty of FMP Advanced experience, but to get started on FMP Server I have a couple of questions:

1: Does FMP Server hold the DB in memory?

My reason for asking this is because I need as much speed as possible possible given the underlying hardware and I am trying to figure out what performance increment I might expect by using an in-memory DB.  This helps with my business case.

2: Does Perform Script on Server allow you to start multiple processes that can take full advantage of all available server CPU cores?

I have some very long duration calculations, and on FMP Advanced, which can only take advantage of 1 CPU core on the client side, I am constrained to code optimisation. I want to take advantage of as many CPU cores as are available to improve performance.  I can break-up the long duration processing into a number of parallel processes, each operating independently to achieve the same outcome.  So I am wondering if FMP Server can use all the available machine resources to execute each of these processes.  In an ideal world, I would like to see all CPU cores fully utilised.  A sub-question here is how FMP Server responds performance-wise to real physical cores vs. virtual cores.

3: Is there a beginners guide to developing for FMP Server?