2 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2014 10:20 AM by cjcj01

Existing IIS Websites

ThomasHowell

Title

Existing IIS Websites

Your post

Hi all,

I'm new to Filemaker Server. I support a customer that is looking to install a server, but they'd like to have a development/test site before going to production. The problem is that we do not have any servers (Windows 2008 R2) that are not already hosting multiple sites already. 

I understand from reading the Filemaker Server 13 (that's the edition the client is interested in installing) that you should not install Filemaker Server 13 on a server with existing IIS sites.  My questions are 

1.           What happens to the existing sites if you do install Filemaker Server anyway?
      3.           Is there any way to restore the existing sites into a running state after the installation either by reconfiguring Filemaker, the existing default site, or through some other means?

Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: Existing IIS Websites

Thomas Howell: 

Thank you for the post.

"1. What happens to the existing sites if you do install Filemaker Server anyway?" 

If existing IIS sites are using ports 80 and 443, then during the installation, a prompt to disable those sites will appear:

FileMaker Server will not install and reports that ports 80 and 443 are in use

Ports used by FileMaker Server 13

Understanding the system requirements for FileMaker Server 13

"2. Is there any way to restore the existing sites into a running state after the installation either by reconfiguring Filemaker, the existing default site, or through some other means?"

FileMaker Server 13 additionally includes Custom Web Publishing with PHP or XML. 

Page 25 of the following guide shows the location FileMaker Server 13 loads the site directory structure:

FileMaker® Server 13 Custom Web Publishing with PHP

Lastly, a server operating system is not required for FileMaker Server 13:

Technical Specifications FileMaker Server 13

TSFalcon