4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2012 2:42 PM by philmee95

Filemaker Server ODBC IMPORT TO SQL 2005

the_9th

Title

Filemaker Server ODBC IMPORT TO SQL 2005

Your post

Filemaker Server and Client 11. Server 2003, MS SQL 2005
      I have been developing solutions for 15 years and would consdier myself an "expert" but this one has me baffled.

Looking to see if anyone else has had trouble getting FM Server to import scheduled data via an ODBC Connection.

For this example I am using Windows 2003 Server and FileMaker Server 11.

This works completely fine in FileMaker Client, but not on Server.

The file will EXPORT as part of the scheduled script - and then it will say complete. NO ERROR - however the data is not moved from the CSV file to the SQL SERVER (2005) - it will however, work if I send the csv file to FileMaker.

• I have confirmed that the ODBC is operational and named identically on the server and the client
      • I have confirmed that the file is correctly exporting
      • I have confirmed that the path is correctly being set via the variable

I have followed all of the instructions from the FileMaker article on the forum 

Import/Export Script on FileMaker Server

The following statement from the article leads me to believe it should be possible.

Supporting import/export formats: . . . In addition, importing/exporting to a ODBC data source is supported.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly welcome.

Thank you in advance.

Joe

• 1. Re: Filemaker Server ODBC IMPORT TO SQL 2005
          the_9th

This is Joe replying to my own post. I have since switched the file format to XLS and it seems to work just fine. I am not sure why the change has occured, but I am going to accept it for now. If I have time, I will go back and troubleshoot some more. I will post whatever I discover back to the forum here.  :smileyvery-happy:

• 2. Re: Filemaker Server ODBC IMPORT TO SQL 2005
            philmee95

yay, forum works in FF (not ie8 though).