8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2013 12:30 AM by jmw

FMS 12 / FMP 12Advanced Remote Access Question...

NateBeaman

Title

FMS 12 / FMP 12Advanced Remote Access Question...

Your post

I am new to the filemaker scene so I'm hoping I'm simply missing something that's obvious to those more experienced. I'm hosting my database via FMS 12 on a designated windows machine at work and am able to access remotely viea the local IP address (on a MacBook) but when I try to access it from home I can't see the one database I  am hosting.

I've checked / opened port 5003 and every other port for that matter. I've even attempted removing the firewall and anything else that might "block" access to the network.

Anything im missing?

Thanks...

Nate

IMG_3930.jpg

• 1. Re: FMS 12 / FMP 12Advanced Remote Access Question...
          philmodjunk

I don't think that you can "see" the file in the hosts listing. I believe you have to enter the IP address and file name in the box below those panes in order to open the file from outside the local network. And that will only work if you if you have correctly set up port forwarding on your internet router.

• 2. Re: FMS 12 / FMP 12Advanced Remote Access Question...
            NateBeaman

@PhilModJunk

I tried that but neither the DB that i'm hosting or the "FMServer_Sample" default DB opens. I get an error message that says something like...  "The database could not open. Ether it is not hosted (which I know it is) or the host isn't on. (Which is not true either)." Any other thoughts? I guess I need to check the router again but this would be something like the 5th time. 

• 3. Re: FMS 12 / FMP 12Advanced Remote Access Question...
              jmw

Nate, I understand you can access the file at work using a local IP address, can you acces it at work using the internet address?