3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2015 11:37 AM by Mac89

FMS14 Upgrade, Filemaker Hits Us w/$7,200 Bill to Maintain Existing Concurrent Users

Mac89

Title

FMS14 Upgrade, Filemaker Hits Us w/$7,200 Bill to Maintain Existing Concurrent Users

Your post

This is a cautionary note for those on annual maintenance contracts for Filemaker Server who are looking to upgrade to Filemaker 14. My company got upgraded and immediately had our concurrent users drop from 25 to 1. Filemaker said to get them back, our company has to pay $7,200 despite being on a current annual contract that already had 25 concurrent users.

I have been using Filemaker for more than 20 years going all the way back to the Claris days and long ago purchased Filemaker Server Advanced with Unlimited Connections for Go and Instant Web Publishing (although you were always limited by technical ceilings for IWP/FMGo). By paying the annual maintenance fee every year, you are supposed to get the all new versions released. Every year Filemaker sends a quote and my company purchases it either directly through Filemaker or through a reseller.

In Dec. 2013, FIlemaker rolled out Filemaker Server 13 and officially did away with the Server Advanced version. Those that had FMSA licenses were given 25 concurrent users for WebDirect and FMGo and you could purchase more if you wanted. This is what happened to us. Twenty-five users seemed fair so I stuck with FMS13 and continued to renew our maintenance agreement every year, including in 2014 and 2015. All seemed good.

That all changed when I upgraded us to FMS14. Our concurrent users immediately dropped from 25 to 1 and consequently crippling our live customer database. I immediately contacted our Filemaker sales rep to get the error corrected. I thought this has to be a simple entry error that could be rapidly fixed since our company was current on our maintenance contracts and we had been using the 25 users since Dec. 2013.