5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2011 12:10 PM by philmodjunk

IWP vs. PHP?

CDCASA

Title

IWP vs. PHP?

Your post

Hi, I am trying to determine if I can get away with buying the FM Server rather than the FM Server Advanced and the main question is whether I will be able to get my databases up and running easily enough using PHP. I would like to avoid paying the extra cost for the Advanced version, however, I also need to have my databases available online by the end of next week and I am unsure of whether I can learn/understand/setup PHP well enough by that time. Currently I already have IWP set up for my databases but they are only accessible in network since I do not have FM Server yet. I guess what I am asking is what are the advantages/disadvantages of using PHP vs. IWP despite the difference in cost for the Server software? Also, if PHP seems to be the best choice, is it probable that I can get my database up and in good order  in one week using PHP if I am completely new to it? I have read about the PHP Site Assistance that the FM Server involves but I am still a little unsure of whether or not I can figure it out in time. Thanks.

• 1. Re: IWP vs. PHP?
          philmodjunk

A lot depends on what programming skills you have, but "end of next week" sounds like an impossible deadline when you are not yet familiar with PHP--even with a knowledgeable PHP guy on hand to do the developing this could be too little time.

You might consider contracting with a web hosting service that can use Server Advanced to host your database for you for a monthly fee. This can give you the breathing room needed to attempt a PHP, custom web published version of your solution.

• 2. Re: IWP vs. PHP?
            CDCASA

So do you not recommend the choice of getting the Server Advanced software and publishing my database on the web via IWP? It seems to me like that might be the best option by avoiding PHP altogether. Or is PHP simply a better way to utilize the database? Thank you.