2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2008 10:57 AM by TSGal

moving to new server

tksii

Title

moving to new server

Your post

our company recently purchased a new server to house the FM Pro 8 database application and data. I am their IT consultant and I have no experience with FM. 

Is there a doc or howto detailing what steps should be taken in moving the app and data to this new server?  I can follow the install guide for the application itself, my real concern is how to import or move the database to the new server?

Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: moving to new server
          rmanook

Hi tksii,

Thanks for posting!

Unfortunately we do not have a doc covering the migration of FileMaker Server to another machine.  However, regardless of Server version the same rules typically apply:

-In the FileMaker Server Admin Console, close out all of your databases.  You can do this by choosing 'close all' from the action drop down menu or by right + click (win) or ctrl + click (mac) the databases.

-Once the databases' status all say closed you can copy the database folder to the desktop.  The default database folder locations are here (Note: verify if there are any other additional database folder locations):

Win: Program Files > FileMaker > FileMaker Server > Data > Databases

Mac: Library > FileMaker Server > Data > Databases 

-At this point, you can go ahead and install FileMaker Server on your second machine.  Once it is installed, you can copy the database folder over top of the one created during your new install (or you can just copy the databases themselves into the new database folder)   

Please note that this is also assuming that the company is hosting files via FileMaker Server.  If they are just hosting with FileMaker Pro, then all you would need to do is copy your databases to the second machine and install FileMaker Pro.

If you're running FileMaker Server 8 check out our document listed here: