1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 25, 2014 12:07 PM by RickWhitelaw

Newbie planning questions

FredKempf

Title

Newbie planning questions

Your post

Hi folks,

I'm relatively new to FMP, but am loving what I've been able to do so far.  I'd like some thoughts on "architecture" and pitfalls to avoid as I get ready to take the next step.

I'm an attorney in Dallas.  My daughter, also an attorney, works with me, but from Austin.   I want to  open the FMP work I'm doing here, to her.  I have DSL at work, at home, and my daughter has DSL in Austin.  I believe all three lines are "dynamic IP addressing," if that plays into this in any way.  

What we want is pretty simple at this point: to create shared databases, with strong security, and with solid backup.

What I'm contemplating, is buying a decently equipped Mac Mini, and FMP server, and installed it in my Dallas office, as a dedicated server.  I'm assuming I would connect via a lan connection to my Time Capsule (3TB) which acts as my backup and file server in our office, and also "controls" my DSL link.  I'm pretty sure I"ll have to do some port assignments (etc.) when I get to that point, but from what I can see, between the FMP documentation and the tech support, I'm guessing I can get through that. 

We'll order FMP for my daughter's system (an IMac desktop).  Eventually, she'll add an iPad so she can execute contracts when she's out of the office.  For now at least, I don't think we'll need more than the basic "1 connection" for her iPad.  I have one too, and will use it, but it's highly unlikely we'd both be on our iPads at the same time.  So I'm assuming the basic FMP server would be all I need, for now.  Lastly, I currently run FMP 12 on my office system, but I recognize I may need to upgrade to match my daughter's version to pull all this off.