6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2010 12:50 PM by TSGal

Schedule VB System Script Fails to execute

philmodjunk

Title

Schedule VB System Script Fails to execute

Your post

System Info: Windows Server 2003 sp2, FMS 10.

This may become a bug report, but since I am fairly new to using FMS 10 to schedule a VB Script. I'll assume for the moment that I'm missing some key detail. The Information that I'm posting is quite lengthy so I will add more info in a second post.

Here's the problem: FMS 10 won't back files up across the network to another computer's drive. Information from FM inc suggests using FM Server to back up files to a local drive and then use a system level script such as VB script to copy the files to a networked drive. I created the following VB script to calculate the name of the most recent back up folder and copy all its contents to a folder that's been shared and mapped as drive Z:

After testing, I put a copy of this VB script in the FMS 10 scripts directory. If I right-click the file and open it with the Microsoft base scripts host, it correctly deletes any existing filemaker files from the destination folder and then copies the files over to this destination folder from the most recent back up folder. When I use FM Server to execute this script nothing happens. Looking for any possible information, I added code to this script to log any errors/or the lack of any error to a text file in the scripts folder. Again, performing this script from the command prompt or by using MS script host, successfully copies the files and generates the text file logging each step as being performed successfully. When I ran this script from a schedule in FMS, no files were copied and the text log was not created. No errors were reported in the log viewer.

*******************************************************************************************************************

On Error Resume Next