4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2010 1:17 AM by amiels

Server Communication Error

amiels

Title

Server Communication Error

Your post

Hi, this is my first time at the forum. I'm a sysadmin at a museum, we have been using filemaker pro 9 (on a win 2003 std.) and clients (xp pro) for a few months, we are experiencing a problem: the main database (around 2GB) is no longer located at the clients files list (when opening the remote host). When I log in into the server and then to the admin console I get the following: An error was encountered communicating with the server. I've tried to replace the database file with the one from the backup but that didn't helped. I'll appreciate any help soon since I have some people here not been able to work...

Please post or contact me at amiel@it-services.co.il

Thank you very much. 

• 1. Re: Server Communication Error
          MikeyG79

What version of java is installed on the server?

Have you tried rebooting the server?

• 2. Re: Server Communication Error
            amiels

Yes, I've restarted the server a couple times...

I have the latest version (6 update 20)

Some more info not mentioned in my prior post:

The web server in the FM software it's not configured

The server and workstations are not connected to the internet

And some more info from my today's troubleshooting:

The windows server log says that the database could not be opened...use the recover command in FileMaker Pro 9

If I open the admin console, it opens, says Admin Server Connection Error: An unknown error has occurred and then closes the Admin Console.

While opening the database from a client it says that it was improperly closed and it's checking for consistency. After a very long time the windows appeared with the following message: > "BLMJ Database.fp7" is damaged and cannot be opened. Use the Recover command to recover this file <

thanks

• 3. Re: Server Communication Error
              MikeyG79

I believe FMS9 wants Java 6 update 7