7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2014 6:11 PM by RickWhitelaw

Server Update difficultly FM 9 to 13

LucRataj

Title

Server Update difficultly FM 9 to 13

Your post

Hi, 

Currently my company is in the works of revamping its whole in house FM system which was built in 2008'ish and the assigned me to the task. 

We are currently running FM9 pro and server.

In a recently proposal we were quoted $1,100 and 7 hours of work just to convert the FM9 data bases to FM13.

This seemed excessive to me, is it? I've watched YouTube videos where FM basically does it automatically in less than 5 mins. 

I have never worked with Mac's before, but I am far from computer illiterate.  

As a FM novice is updating the server software something I should attempt?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Server Update difficultly FM 9 to 13
          RickWhitelaw

FMP13 will automatically upgrade all files from fmp7 (the old file format) to fmp12 format (the current file format of FMP13). After that it's a matter of buying FMS13 and installing it, then using FMP 13 to upload the files to the server. This doesn't involve much work and it's my sense, without meaning to impugn the integrity of the person who gave you this quote, that you're being misled.

• 2. Re: Server Update difficultly FM 9 to 13
            Markus Schneider

It depends on Your solution...

- There might be some minor problems with buttons (graphics issue, not functional).

- It is also possible that one file is damaged and has to be reworked (a log-file is created during the conversion process with error codes).

- Maybe the developer adapts some of the new methods for some processes (i.e. sql, etc)

- If You are using PlugIns, there is also a potential for reworking...

• 3. Re: Server Update difficultly FM 9 to 13
              LucRataj

Thank you for the replies, we do not use any plug-ins right now, only a few scripts and I know no files are damaged we are still using them every day