7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2010 4:06 PM by TimJohnston

total NOOB question

TimJohnston

Title

total NOOB question

Your post

OK guys, sorry for the noob question: I'm in one of those offices that's running and relying on a really old FMP system, and I have little idea how to use it, although I'm somewhat computer savvy.

Filemaker Server 7.0v1 ... running on a G4 on 10.3.9

Right now, we can only access the databases over our local network. Is there any way to give access (and allow simultaneous editing of databases) to our contractors that don't work in the building?

We do have a separate FTP server here (that's more up-to-date) that could run a service (like LDAP or something if necessary), but I don't really know what that is or how to get it up and running.

Is there anything simple I can do, or are we totally SOL here?

Any help appreciated! Thanks!

• 1. Re: total NOOB question
          philmodjunk

If you can correctly set up port forwarding for your internet router, your contractors should be able to launch FileMaker, select Open Remote, and enter the Ip address of your internet router to gain access to your database as a filemaker client.

You can web search Port Forwarding to get a number of sites that tell you how to set this up for an internet router and port 591 is supposed to be reserved for FileMaker.

• 2. Re: total NOOB question
            TimJohnston

Great, thanks for the suggestion. We'll try that. I'm a little worried about security, though. I can't seem to figure out how to create users/pwds, and right now we don't have to authenticate to login from inside the office. How do I create user accounts for our contractors from FileMaker Server?

Thanks!

• 3. Re: total NOOB question
              philmodjunk