4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 6, 2012 12:07 AM by PeterThorton

Updating file on a FileMaker server

PeterThorton

Title

Updating file on a FileMaker server

Your post

Hello,

I have a question regarding deployment and maintenance of a database file on a FileMaker server. I'll try to describe my situation:

I'm fairly new to FileMaker, (and indeed to the company I work for at the moment). A couple of weeks ago I started developing a solution (single file) in FileMaker Pro Advanced 11, basically learning by doing. I've been working on a file stored locally on my computer. The solution is nowhere near finished, but some integral parts of the solution are working, and the users need to start using them.

This obviously calls for two versions of the file - a live version and a development version. (I've been saying this from the beginning, but they've already managed to input a lot of live data into my development file before I managed to persuade them).

It turns out the company has a FileMaker server, hosted on a machine within the company's LAN. My boss took my file today and deployed it on the server. The file is accessible throughout the network, if Ichoose File -> Open Remote in FileMaker, and type in the address like this:

fmnet/192.168..../MyDatabaseFile/pf7

FileMaker opens the file. So that's working fine. But there's still a problem of updating the file on the server.

Let's say I update the solution about once a week. That means the users have been using the file for a week, and the data on my developer version is out of date.

Since FileMaker bundles data layer, application logic and user interface into one unseparable package, the only way of updating the file I can think of is replacing the old file with the new one. This would mean replacing live data with my week-old copy, so obviously I first need to update my development version with the data from the live version.