1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 28, 2011 9:02 AM by TSGal

Web Server Test Failed. Problems with Apache? Firewall?

cresal

Title

Web Server Test Failed. Problems with Apache? Firewall?

Your post

I'm trying to get IWP working on my server. I'm sorry if this has been solved in earlier posts. My initial search for old posts produced nothing terribly helpful.

I'm a newbie to servers, and yet one of the most knowledgable one in the office because i know what an IP address is *facepalm*. And I'm the only one that really knows Filemaker.

This is aso the first time I've really been working with a Mac. Far more accustomed to Windows.

Server info:

Mac OS X Server, version 10.5.8

exceeds minimum requirements to run FM Server Advanced

I'm attempting to install the trial version of FM Server Advanced 11

I downloaded the trial, installed without a problem and got the admin console up and running without a hitch. I got it hosting our poor outdated database and accessible to other computers on the network, no problem. But when I started going through the steps to enable web publishing I ran into a hiccup. While using the deployment assistant I made it to the step where "the following web server has been located and can be used for web publishing" > Apache
      But when I click next it takes me to the error screen "Web Server Test Failed" with the error

"Unconfigured web server...
      Return code = 0"

Testing web server...
      Return code = false"

I manually input our host IP and port 80, and got

"Retry web server test...
      Web server test failed. Return code = -1"