3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2012 9:03 AM by philmodjunk

What can I use instead of find and replace for IWP databases?

DaveWoodland

Title

What can I use instead of find and replace for IWP databases?

Your post

Hi,

I have a booking database that at the moment is used in the office with Filemaker Pro. I want to move it over to Filemaker Server so our pilots can access it through the internet to check bookings etc. I have downloaded a trial version to see how I go, but when I put the database on the server I have found that some of the functionality does not work as it relies on find and replace, what else can I use?

At the moment when we select a filed it is marked as "selected" and then when we hit the booking button it finds all fields marked "selected" and replaces with the customer's name (as we could be making multiple bookings for each student with different instructors and aircraft on the one record).

As you can probably tell, I am a pilot not an IT guy, so I have limited experience with Filemaker!

• 1. Re: What can I use instead of find and replace for IWP databases?
          philmodjunk

A script can perform a find for all records.

A script can then either loop through them and use set field to update the fields as needed or a Replace Field Contents step can update them in one batch.

Both options should be IWP compatible as long as you use the "no dialog" option for Replace Field Contents.

Ps. You might consider using a StudentID number instead of the student's name and linking to a table of students by that ID instead of by name. Student names are neither unique nor unchanging so you can encounter issues when using names like this.

• 2. Re: What can I use instead of find and replace for IWP databases?
            DaveWoodland

Hi,

There are around 100 fields on the database that could have "selected" in them do I have to search them all individually, or can I search them all at once?