8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2015 6:11 AM by wimdecorte

ODBC connection problem

francescoraggi

Hi,

I'm trying to connect a Filemaker Pro 14 database to an MDL application (via ODBC driver defined in User Tab of ODBC window) but I've a problem.

Usually, when I try to connect a FileMaker database with other software a window appears to ask me UID and PSW.

With this  MDL app the UID and PSW windows doesn't appear and I receive the error message below:

"ERROR [28000] [FileMaker][FileMaker] User ID must be specified"

Could someone help me?

Thank you in advance.

Best regards,

Francesco

• 1. Re: ODBC connection problem
          rogerengstrom

I'd guess that it's a problem with the ODBC driver.

Are you able to connect to the MDL-app with any other client and the same driver?

• 2. Re: ODBC connection problem
            francescoraggi

Sorry, I have no experience with other MDL (.ma) applications. I use this application in MicroStation as a read-only tool for FM database. The connection with MicroStation to the FM DB with the same driver works well.

I suppose the problem is to send to FM user ID and PWS. Are there keys to set in Windows registry to automatically send to FM the UID and PWS?

Thank you in advance.

Francesco

• 3. Re: ODBC connection problem
              rogerengstrom

I must confess I have no experience at all with MDL applications but the principals are the same for any ODBC integration.

Are you trying to get data from FileMaker into your MDL app. or the other way around?

• 4. Re: ODBC connection problem
                wimdecorte

francescoraggi wrote:

The connection with MicroStation to the FM DB with the same driver works well.

I'm confused: in your first post you said you want to connect FM to the other application but here you say you are connecting the other application to FM.