10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2015 4:44 AM by beverly

Execute SQL / Stored Procedure format?

user5571

I have been given the following stored procedure that has 2 parameters.....

Exec iSM_Query6 ‘CTDS’, ‘01/09/2015’

How would I translate this in FileMaker's Execute SQL script step using the 'Calculated SQL text"? 

I'm assuming the results can only come into a single field within FileMaker (which isn't ideal).

Being a SQL novice I'm just not sure of the formatting.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Execute SQL / Stored Procedure format?
          mikebeargie

I haven't dealt with stored procedures at all directly with Execute SQL, but this blog post covers it well:

http://timdietrich.me/blog/filemaker-sql-stored-procedures/

What might be better for you is using the "import records" script step to pull the data result of your SQL over to filemaker.

Traditionally I've used the ExecuteSQL script step whenever I need to write data FROM FileMaker back to SQL and don't want to deal with ESS via the relationship graph.

• 2. Re: Execute SQL / Stored Procedure format?
            wimdecorte

user5571 wrote:

I'm assuming the results can only come into a single field within FileMaker (which isn't ideal).

It is important to note that the Execute SQL script step will not return a result.  It is meant to send / update data.  Only the Import script step can return data from an ODBC data source.

• 3. Re: Execute SQL / Stored Procedure format?
              beverly

It has been a while... does the driver have "logging" and that shows "something" after INSERT, UPDATE or DELETE?

However, the script step has nowhere to place any results, so this is a true statement.

• 4. Re: Execute SQL / Stored Procedure format?
                ronhofius

You treat it like straight text concatenation with the single quotes being just text in your string.