5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2015 6:21 AM by breastfeedingcenter

Weight Calculations?

breastfeedingcenter

hey there filemaker world!

i am almost finished creating our database (so exciting!) but have one final piece that i can't seem to figure out:

we need multiple different fields for multiple baby weights to be recorded one after another. i then need to make a field to calculate the change in weight from the first weight to the last weight. anyone have any insight on this? i've been googling but haven't been able to find a solution.

thanks!

gina

• 1. Re: Weight Calculations?
          erolst

Use a related table, with fields for weight and dateOfMeasurement.

Then sort the relationship by dateOfMeasurement, and your calculation is simply

BabyWeight::weight - Last ( BabyWeight::weight )

or reverse, depending on the actual sort order used.

• 2. Re: Weight Calculations?
            breastfeedingcenter

hm i'm not sure i understand (sorry - i am new to filemaker). let me more fully explain exactly what i want to do and then maybe you could elaborate?

we want to have multiple fields for baby's weight (all input on the same day, over the course of a nursing session). for example:

6 lb 2.4 oz - Weight1

6 lb 3.1 oz - Weight2

6 lb 4.2 oz - Weight3

1.8 oz - Milk Transferred

it would be ideal if we could also have all weights auto-calculated into kilograms (to be displayed next to the pounds/ounces.

thanks for your help!

• 3. Re: Weight Calculations?
              ibrahim_bittar

Hello Gina

You need a separate table for all weights.

Suppose we have a table called BabyInfo, where you have all your patients. Then you will relate that table to another table called Weights. You can name its table occurrence as BabyInfo_Weights for example.

Then, from the BabyInfo table you'll create a calculated field called WeightDelta for example. The calculation of this field would be: