1 2 3 Previous Next 36 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2015 1:03 PM by Boblebad

How to show found data set in separate layout ?

Boblebad

Hi

I'm new to this world of Filemaker Pro 14, so please bare with me

I have now for a couple of hours tried to figure out how i can do a search/find and present the found data in a list form on a new clean layout.

I have a table that holds the data and want to filter it on a field to show only the records where there's data entered in this field.

I would like to have it as a separate layout. When you click a button, you're lead to that layout. That i can do, but showing the filtered data is not working. I tried doing it with a portal, but nothing shows up. And i don't know if that's the best way to do it either ?

I also tried to set up the layout to display the data from the table in a list view, but nothing is showing up.

I'm not sure what i'm not doing right here.

All the best

Carsten

• 1. Re: How to show found data set in separate layout ?
          coherentkris

If you have two layout (say one form and one list) based on the same Table Occurrence moving between the two without changing the window should respect the found set.

What exactly are you trying to do that does not work?

• 2. Re: How to show found data set in separate layout ?
            Boblebad

As i wrote. I want show a specified data set on a clean layout. As a search/query shows specific records.

In MS Access it's easy to just make a query and put in on a form, but the way it's done here is very different.

So how can i show filtered records on a clean form/layout that only shows the wanted records ?

• 3. Re: How to show found data set in separate layout ?
              coherentkris

Performing a find will isolate the "wanted" records from the unwanted records.

Finding records

If you want it to be a repeatable process then either script it or save the find.

Saving a find request