9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2015 5:18 PM by luiza.b.almeida

Modal Window Script Bug

luiza.b.almeida

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie, so please excuse me if my question is dumb.

Part 1:

I'm building a database with important information in it with thousands of records. In order to prevent users from changing the information accidentally, I created an "Edit Info" button that takes you to a modal window (which is a different layout that has a "save" button and a "cancel" button for users to verify their changes before saving them). Everything was working fine, until I tried to log in as a user with limited access and I started to get notices like "Your access privileges do not allow you to perform this action." So, I decided to run a script debugger and it's finding Error #3 on many parts of my modal window script.

Here is the script I wrote and linked to the "Edit Info" button:

Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 3.20.04 PM.png

What is wrong with my script? How can I make it work?

Part 2:

How do I make the specific fields un-editable on that specific layout? I know I could can the in the security settings, but that would make it towards users wouldn't be able to edit the fields from the modal window either. I also know I could make that specific layout not available for modification, but that freezes all fields, including the button to take me to the modal window.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Modal Window Script Bug
          KenNewell

In answer to part 2 . . .  in the inspector you can set if a field can be entered into for either browse mode or find mode.  If you uncheck the browse mode they can not enter the field in browse mode and therefore can not make changes.  One down side of doing that is if you have an edit text box with a vertical scroll bar they can not entered into the field to scroll it.

• 2. Re: Modal Window Script Bug
            luiza.b.almeida

This is great! Thanks!