5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2015 1:25 PM by beverly

database relationships with existing data from excel

jshimota

Hi - first post so forgive any obvious faux pas.

I am a beginner filemaker user.  I was asked to create a filemaker solution for a simple quote system.  At least I thought!

The product data originated in an excel spreadsheet.  Using a secretary, and with VB Scripts I was able to pull out usable data then created other sheets for importation.

My product table consists of a product and product category and product family.  In addition, some records have embedded 'mods' that the user can lookup in a book.  I want to setup the tables but with imported data, I don't get relationships correctly built.  How can I get help on this and explain it better so an experienced person can say 'click this then that and your good'?  I'm even prepared to hire someone for guidance if thats ok to say. 

Jim Shimota

• 1. Re: database relationships with existing data from excel
          TSPigeon

jshimota:

You might try a Search for a Consultant. I always recommend entering Country, State/Province and within 25 or 50 miles of your Postal Code. It will generally find a list of at least two or three consultants.

I hope this information is of use!

TSPigeon

FileMaker, Inc.

• 2. Re: database relationships with existing data from excel
            erolst

jshimota wrote:

My product table consists of a product and product category and product family.  In addition, some records have embedded 'mods' that the user can lookup in a book.  I want to setup the tables but with imported data, I don't get relationships correctly built.

Hi Jim –

let's leave aside the Excel angle for the moment and focus on the ideal database for your purposes, agnostic to the method of data acquisition.

Besides Products, what other tables do you have? Or if you don't have any, what other things (entities) and processes do you want to manage?