3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2015 11:05 AM by justinc

External SQL tables not creating new records in related tables

lammike

Hi.  I'm new to this forum, and hoping that someone can point me in the right direction.  I have a FileMaker database that links to an external SQL database via ODBC.  Everything works fine, but when a new record is created in one of the linked SQL tables, I would like a new record to be created in the corresponding FileMaker table, but this isn't happening.  I do have "Allow creation of records in this table via this relationship" checked.  Is this even possible, or is there a different approach that I should be taking?  I'm relatively new to this, so I apologize if I'm not explaining what I'm trying to accomplish in the clearest possible way.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: External SQL tables not creating new records in related tables
          justinc

Hey there Mike,

The checkbox for 'create related records' only works one table away - it sounds like you are trying to create two related records, really:  one in the SQL table and one in an FM table.  This checkbox works like this:  if I am on a record in TableA and I set a field in a record in TableB, it will create a new record in TableB to hold that field that I just set (assuming that the record in TableB doesn't already exist).

So are you the one creating the record in the ESQL table?  Or is it happening from some other process?  If you are the one creating it, you can create the record in the 2nd table (the FM table) as well:  either just grab the ID of the new ESQL record create and do a simple "go-to-Layout[TableB], create new record, set FK field to value from ESQL record" process.  Or you could use the checkbox you were describing:  start on a layout base in the ESQL table, create a new record; while on that record set a field in the FM (TableB) record.  This should create a new record and automatically set the relation field to the PK value from the ESQL record.