AnsweredAssumed Answered

Construct database from folder structure

Question asked by jandavid on Oct 13, 2015
Latest reply on Oct 21, 2015 by bigtom

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to FileMaker.  In fact I have been playing around with a trial version for a while, but still have some questions and before actually buying it I'd like to hear from someone more experienced if what I plan to use it for is actually possible. 

So here's the situation:  I want to create a FMP database for data that is currently organized in a folder structure which looks like this:

YYYY-MM-DD-XX

YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss

YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.mov

YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.wav

YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.eaf

YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.pfsx

YYYY-MM-DD_hh.mm.ss.tbt

and potentially some other files

YYYY-MM-DD_hh-mm-ss is a folder which represents a "session", which on the disk contains all the media files and should be represented by one record in FileMaker where each of the 5 files appears in a container field.   However not all sessions have all 5 files, some might have only a video some might only have audio.

My first question:  Is there a way to import this into FileMaker so that the structure is preserved and FM automatically detects how many items are in each folder/session (and keeps the other containers empty)?  Or if FM doesn't do it itself, is there a way to create an AppleScript to do it?   I guess that's the way to go as I'd also like to extract the date/time of each file by parsing the name string and the length of each of the media files.

So I've played around with it a little and managed to create a tab delimited text file for a few entries, which works more or less.  Took me a while to figure out the correct format for container fields but this actually works and links the files correctly:

movie:2013-05-02_06.55.28.wav

moviemac:/FW Archive/2013-05-02-KT/2013-05-02_06.55.28/2013-05-02_06.55.28.wav

But I ran into a few problems with the container fields: