1 2 3 Previous Next 32 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2015 2:10 PM by vvkozmenko

Event management solution

vvkozmenko

Hi, I am relatively new to FileMaker. For whatever reason, I am having troubles with many-to many relationships and linking table.

I need to create a solution to track social events. At each event there will be multiple participants performing multiple songs. So, during each event the same song will be performed by multiple participants and same participant will perform several songs.

I am totally lost about how to handle it.

Thank you,

Val

• 1. Re: Event management solution
          erolst

Maybe see here:

Help With Songwriter Database

and here the official documentation & introduction:

Working with related tables and files

• 2. Re: Event management solution

This sounds like a database design understanding issue, not a FileMaker issue per se.

I would check out a Lynda.com course or similar on relational database design before diving in to creating a design which may not work or end up just causing you a lot of problems.

FileMaker also chooses what it "thinks" is the best relationship type between two tables and you can't change that.

HTH

• 3. Re: Event management solution
              erolst

morkus wrote:

This sounds like a database design understanding issue, not a FileMaker issue per se.

Really? What makes you think that?

• 4. Re: Event management solution

What made me think that was the wording of the initial posting.

To me, and I could of course be mistaken, it sounded like the confusion was terminology like "multiple of this which could have multiple of that", etc. (1:M, M:M, or whatever).  Moreover, since I always assume that the person posting has the business knowledge to do what they need to do (that is understand the music business or whatever), I tend to think that some new to FMP may be new to databases too.

Of course, the poster didn't include their complete technical background...