1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2015 11:36 AM by KenHoopes

How to executesql for stored procedure with parameters?

KenHoopes

I am basically trying to use filemaker as the frontend to an sql database, since filemaker is easy to deploy and I have no front end experience. To accomplish this, I plan on coding as much of it as I can in MS SQL, and was hoping to get assistance from the community on executing stored procedures with variables. See below.

The following is my executesql command in my script:

Execute SQL [ ODBC Data Source: “sampledb” ; SQL Text: EXECUTE sampleSP @parameter1,@parameter2 ]

I have a layout that is tied to a global table with two fields, and a button that executes the script.

How can I pass what is in the global fields to the two parameters?

A followup(less important), my SP is designed to "PRINT" feedback based on certain scenarios. Is there a way to pass that message back to filemaker?

• 1. Re: How to executesql for stored procedure with parameters?
          nicolai

In the "Specify SQL" dialogue box select "Calculated SQL text" option

E.g. for the FileMaker fields myParameter1 and myParameter2 enter

"EXEC sampleSP @parameter1 = "  &  myParameter1 &  ", @parameter2 =" & myParameter2

On my experience Print does not work (as far as I remember it is used for debugging and not the output).

• 2. Re: How to executesql for stored procedure with parameters?
            KenHoopes

That worked perfectly, thank you so much.

Any way to get it to not show the specify sql dialog box, and require log in to the database each time the script is executed?

• 3. Re: How to executesql for stored procedure with parameters?
              beverly

part 2 of the question: The ODBC set up should have a way to LOG the queries. See what results you get from the logs after a query is run.

beverly

• 4. Re: How to executesql for stored procedure with parameters?
                beverly