2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2015 12:10 PM by eyee12

How to Pull Records from One Table, and Field Inputs from Another

eyee12

Hi all -

I'm pretty new to Filemaker, yet I've watched videos on working it and have what I initially want built out. I'm just a bit stuck at this one part though. A little background: I'm doing a database for a casting company and I have a layout for a Job Info and Talent. Job info Layout has fields such as Job Title, Production company, job info, and Roles.

I want to be able to input all the job information on this Job Info layout and from there, I want to be able to input all the Roles for the job. Anyways, where I'm stuck is I essentially want to click a button for Each Role that's inputted to cast from the Talent table. i.e. Role 1 - Hipsters, Role 2 - Business, Role 3 - Athletes, etc. I'll click a button and it'll take me to my Talent table where I can use the "Find" function to search talent that fit the qualifications.

When I tried, I have the associated table being "Talent". That way, I can click the button to get to this layout, and I can see all my search criteria listed so I can filter and find the talent I need for the specific Role. What I also need on this sheet, is for it to pull the data that I inputted into my Job Info layout such as Role, Job ID, Job Title, etc. It seems that I can either do one or the other but I can't seem to combine the two together on one layout.

I hope this is not too confusing. Here's a look at what My Relationships look like and also a screenshot of the Layout I have set up, but not working properly yet. Thanks for any help!!

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 9.58.52 AM.png

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 10.01.04 AM.png

• 1. Re: How to Pull Records from One Table, and Field Inputs from Another
          erolst

The issue is that there is no inherent relationship between the Job record based on which you want to search/filter, and any Talent record.

But you can add one:

create a global field