13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2015 6:37 PM by richardsrussell

How to Display "Found Set" only from Layout

eyee12

Hi all -

I have a question that I can't seem to figure out. I've posted a question before and you guys were great with helping out with it!

I'm pretty new to Filemaker, yet I've watched videos on working it and have what I initially want built out. I'm just a bit stuck at this one part though. A little background: I'm doing a database for a casting company and I now have a Layout built where I can pull Job Info from a Global Field created, and Filter my Talent through several fields I created; Age Range, Body Type, Ethnicity, Special Skills, etc. This Layout is meant to use the Find option so I can cast for specific sets of people. i.e. If I search for Age Range 18-25, it'll pull through my Talent DB and list all my 18-25 year olds in a found set.

From there, I want to pull these records from the Found Set and List them in another Layout essentially. For each role, I'd like to do this and add it to that one, single layout. This way, when I cast for...8 roles, I can have all those that I've found in the found sets listed in one layout so I know who I can email to cast for a job.

Is this something that is possible? Thank you for your help!!

Here's what my Relationships and my layout with the filters looks like.

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 11.45.06 PM.png

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 11.45.24 PM.png

• 1. Re: How to Display "Found Set" only from Layout
          mikebeargie

In the same window, found sets are carried over to layouts based on the same table.

So you can do your find on one layout, then go to another layout based on the same table and it leaves you in the same found set, no extra coding needed.

If the table is related to the table you performed the find on, then you can use the "Go To Related Records" script step to navigate to the related records on another layout.