7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2015 12:23 PM by brian47933

Help tracking students' exam results

brian47933

I am in desperate need of guidance. I'm new to FileMaker.

I want to keep track of students and their exam results.

I have many students who take many exams. So this is a many-to-many relationship. I think I need a join table.

The data is coming from a collection of Excel worksheets. I have standardized the column names and just collect some information from each worksheet (Speaking, Writing, Listening, Reading, Overall scores). This is a standardized test which is given multiple times. A student can take it one or more times.

I am confused how to set this up in FileMaker Pro 13.

I have a students table. On the student detail layout I have a tabbed window. I want the above results to appear on the tab. This should be done with a portal, pulling the data from the join table (I think).

Am I going in the right direction? I'd like to get this done as soon as possible. I have another round of exam results coming up.

Thank you in advance for your time.

• 1. Re: Help tracking students' exam results
          brian47933

I guess we're going to hire the work done or continue using multiple Excel spreadsheets.

Thanks anyway.

• 2. Re: Help tracking students' exam results
            user19752

You didn't get reply with posting in bad place, it seems this "New User Group" is nearly dead since "This group is members only", and many of experienced users don't become member, so can't reply. Please try "Discussions" place.

You are in the right direction, only need to go.

• 3. Re: Help tracking students' exam results
              mark_baum

Hi Brian,

My apologies for not responding to this sooner. I'm the only one staffing this area right now and am caught up by a number of urgent projects. Until my team grows, I'd agree with user19752 -- you'll get more timely help from the entire community in the Discussions area, so I'll move this thread there now.