14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2015 3:08 PM by CarlSchwarz

SQL vs native filemaker

CarlSchwarz

I've noticed more and more developers using SQL in Filemaker.

Is there an advantage to using SQL to just doing everything in native Filemaker?  I've been developing with Filemaker for about 15 years now and I can't see the need to use it.  I can see that people with experience in SQL might turn to it for there needs, but for an experienced Filemaker developer who knows there way around Filemakers relational model is there any benefit?  Does it cut down on development times?  Is there a performance gain in some circumstances? Or is it about structure and readability?

If there is a benefit to SQL could I please have some examples?

• 1. Re: SQL vs native filemaker
          Mike_Mitchell

The primary advantage to SQL in FileMaker space is not adding "one off" TOs to your Relationships Graph. Graphs can become cluttered, and if you only need to fetch something for one particular function, it can be tedious to add several TOs whose only purpose in life is a single function.

Sometimes, there can be advantages in being able to fetch a particular record set in a format that makes it easy to generate, say, a Virtual List. It's very easy to parse out the results of an ExecuteSQL query into a Virtual List, so that can be convenient. It's also convenient to, say, create a quick HTML table (where you use HTML tags as delimiters on the result).

Another area where using SQL shines in in DRY coding. Since the query can be abstracted, you can write one script than that can perform a huge variety of tasks by simply passing in parameters. That's something that's really hard to do on the Graph. In situations where you have a similar function to perform in many areas of the solution, being able to abstract it and repeat the code just by changing a parameter is a maintainability boon.