9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2015 2:13 PM by firecop1

If And Statement

firecop1

I have a dropdown field with the values "Pass" "Fail" and "N/A". When the user selects "Fail", I would like that to trigger a radio button linked to another field called "Inspection Status" to show that the inspection failed. I am still learning my way around IfAnd statements so I was hoping someone can steer me in the right direction.   Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: If And Statement
          fitch

Perhaps you could just set the auto-entry calculation for the Inspection Status field to something like:

Case( fieldA = "Fail" ; "Fail" )

Although it seems kind of redundant. Do you need two fields to show the same thing?

• 2. Re: If And Statement
            coherentkris

Agreee with TF. One field.

Einstein -

Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler

• 3. Re: If And Statement
              siplus

When you have a field formatted as dropdown, a good bet is to associate changes occurring to its contents to a script (Layout mode->Select Field->Format-> Set Script Triggers -> onObjectModify). Select a script or create it right away.

In that script you can do whatever you want: set vars, set fields, commits, refreshes, gotolayouts, anything.

• 4. Re: If And Statement
                firecop1

Thanks folks.

I had two options for going about this. The fields with the Pass/Fail/NA drop downs are fire code violations in a fire inspection database. Certain types of violations would trigger an immediate failure of the inspection (blocked fire exits for example). Having more than a certain number of violations would also result in a failed inspection (6 minor violations). The violations are all in tabs based on what they relate to, so the Marshal may not realize how many "Fails" he has at any point.