8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2015 1:38 PM by Appogee

Prevent user from changing a Checkbox?

Appogee

Hello everyone.  I'm new to Filemaker and trialling v14.  Over the past week my skills have improved significantly thanks to the many useful discussions in this community and its predecessor.

But I've come up against a problem that I can't seem to solve...

I have a single Checkbox which is set up as a Boolean button.   When this checkbox is clicked, I use the Button Action [TblMyInventory::Owned; not TblMyInventory::Owned] to toggle the value between zero and non-zero.   The data formatting for this Checkbox is set up so that non-zero is displayed as the character "☑" and zero is displayed as the character "☐".    In this way, the user sees a "blank ballot box" character, clicks it and sees a "ticked ballot box" character, clicks it again and sees a "blank ballot box" character, etc.

I need a script which prevents users from clicking on and changing this checkbox.   The checkbox needs to remain visible - but not changeable.

I tried using a script with the Script Trigger OnObjectEnter.  It should have moved the cursor to the next field.  However, while this script worked on standard fields, it would not work on this checkbox.  

Can anyone help me to solve this?    Thanks in advance for your advice.

• 1. Re: Prevent user from changing a Checkbox?
          MaxEh

Sounds like the checkbox is just a visual clue regarding the current record. The simplest way is in the Inspector go to the Data tab and under Behaviour area in the Field entry section uncheck Browse Mode. This applies only to the checkbox field on the current layout. No script triggers etc.

Martin

• 2. Re: Prevent user from changing a Checkbox?
            coherentkris

How do they set it the first time?

Change implies setting it the first time.

You cant let them click it and prevent them from clicking it at the same time.

• 3. Re: Prevent user from changing a Checkbox?
              siplus