11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2015 5:46 AM by phillegg

Displaying fields in portal from many-to-many relationship

phillegg

I am relatively new to Filemaker Pro but do have some basic experience with building solutions and am in the process of reading the Filemaker Pro Advance training course.

Meanwhile, I am trying to build a contacts database for use in the music business and have used the contacts.fmp12 starter solution that comes with Filemaker Pro14 Advance as a starting point. By editing the basic Contacts starter solution, I wish to create a separate table for Companies so I can have a many-to-many relationship between the contacts and the companies (the thinking behind this is because a journalist can write for many publications and a publication can have many journalists)

To achieve this I have created a separate table for the companies called COMPANY and a join table called ROLE, linked the CONTACT::ID_CONTACT field to ROLE::IDf_ContactID and linked ROLE::IDf_CompanyID to COMPANY::ID_COMPANY.

I have created a relationship between these tables as follows:

• Contact to Role relationship (see image 1 below)
      • Role to Company relationship (see image 2 below)

1_Contact to Role Relationship.png

2_Role to Company Relationship.png

Then: I have created a portal in the Contact Details layout that “shows related records from: contact_role_COMPANY” (see previous images for relationships diagram) and included various fields from the Company’s address fields (see image 3 below)

3_Contact Details layout sowing portal and inspector for the Company Name field.png