1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 20, 2015 9:02 AM by Magnus Fransson

Slow routine, to generate and reimport PDF and send mail, after updating to FMP 14 from FMP 12.

Magnus Fransson

Hi all,

Being a long time reader of this forum, I have a lot to write about this.

I am an experienced FileMaker developer, but I’m used to have other developers surrounding me that do web, server configuration and other “specialized” things. My specialties are core FileMaker stuff like data normalization, tables, fields, relationship graph, calculations and scripting.

Now I am the sole developer on a company internal Customer, Order, Stock and Invoice system. (I actually started on it, as a customer solution, when I worked at a FileMaker consulting company.)

Being held back by plugins not being 64 bit compliant we recently upgraded all users and the production server to FMP 14 from FMP 12. (I have since the release, been developing in FMPA 14 and a development server running FMS 14.)

The hardware for both the servers is some sort of NAS units with RAID 5/6. That is running some version of Linux and a virtualization software, and on top of that, Windows 8 Enterprise (see picture). I have not chosen that setup but it seems to be sufficient for our needs.

Windows_Version.pngFMS_Version.png

Besides the upgrade there have been some other complications as well.

A few days after upgrading, the disks on the production server started to “crash”, one after another. (The system proved to be 5 years old, with identical disks.) We are extremely happy that we got a pristine copy out of it in time, only losing a few days’ work worth of data. (As the RAID went down, all files on that NAS, including backups, where lost.) Those files are now hosted on, what use to be, the development server.

After that castling of servers, we are experience a huge performance issue when confirming orders.