9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2015 3:17 AM by Zerojojo

How to build a nutritional database

Zerojojo

You good people,

I am working for a small chocolate manufacturer and we would like to build a database that helps us create nutritional tables for the label of our products. The idea is to catalogue all our ingredients according to their composition (i.e. protein, fat, carbs, etc.) and then enter the recipes we use into the database in such a way that the database takes into account the composition and the relative amount of the ingredients to calculate the nutritional table of the final product.

I have some experience with Excel, but I am completely new to FileMaker. To me it seems like FileMaker offers such a wide variety of solutions that I have trouble finding the right place to start reading for my particular problem. I guess it's too much to ask for instructions for how to build such a database and set up the calculations, but could anybody point me to some valuable tutorials or discussions on the topic?

Any help is much appreciated.

Best regards,

Johannes

• 1. Re: How to build a nutritional database
          macwombat

Hi Johannes

Welcome to the world of FileMaker.  A good place to start would be the FileMaker Training Series:

Database Skills, FileMaker Pro Training | FileMaker

The basic version is free and then later if you want to go to more advanced functionality you can always buy the advanced version of the training.  You will be given examples to work through that will assist you to learn how to use FileMaker and at the same time you will be able to think through your own database requirements.

Kind regards

Chris

• 2. Re: How to build a nutritional database
            Extensitech