5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2015 1:53 PM by keywords

Mail merge and Labels

Kikiwolf

Hi,

I'm new to Filemaker Pro.

I am used to Excel and Word, but now I need to use Pages and File Maker Pro to create personalised letters, and labels.

And, quite embarrassing, I cannot find anywhere how to get started.

The only thing I find is the Automator, but I cannot find my way there.

Please help, I don't think it van be difficult, and I need to deliver the letters tomorrow.

Best regards Alexander 

• 1. Re: Mail merge and Labels
          mark_b

Hi Alexander,

Have you tried the Contacts started solution? (  File | New From Starter Solution ).  This would be where you would enter your data, or import from Excel.  Once you have the info in the database, you can create a new layout and choose Printer output.  This will allow you to set up mailing labels.  You would then create another new layout where you would type the content of the letter using the merge option to insert names etc into the body of the letter.  I hope this gets you started.

Cheers, Mark

• 2. Re: Mail merge and Labels
            steveromig

Hi,

I'm new to Filemaker Pro.

I am used to Excel and Word, but now I need to use Pages and File Maker Pro to create personalised letters, and labels.

And, quite embarrassing, I cannot find anywhere how to get started.

The only thing I find is the Automator, but I cannot find my way there.

Please help, I don't think it van be difficult, and I need to deliver the letters tomorrow.

Best regards Alexander 

You might want to post your Pages question to the Apple Community but I am pretty sure that Pages does not have "Mail Merge" functionality built in.  It is likely if this works that you will need some form of AppleScript or Automator assistance.