6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2016 3:52 PM by Michiel

Multiple calculations from related table

Michiel

Dear all,

Englisch isn't my native language, so please forgive me. I hope you can help me. This is my first FM solution, so I'm really a beginner.

My database has (among others) the following tables:

Contacts      and      Documents

Contact_ID               Document_ID

etc.                           fID_Contact_ID

Document_Type

Every document belongs to only one contact. A contact have more documents. Clearly a one-to-many relation (Contacts:Contact_ID=Documents:fID_Contact_ID).

In my "contacts-layout" I have made a portal that shows me all the documents related to that contact. Works fine and so far so good.

Let's say one of the document type is "Type x". I want to create a calculation field in de table 'Contacts' that will calculate there is a 'Type x' document for that contact. I created the following calculation:

If ( Documents::Document_Type="Type x" ; "Yes" ; "No" )

This works, but only for the first related record; Only if the first document of this contact is 'Type x', the calculation will show 'Yes'.

After reading several discussions I changed 'sorting records' in the relation between the two tables, by sorting on 'Document_Type'. This solves the problem, but only for 'Type x'. I also want to make a similar calculation for 'Type y'. The result is 'No' when the first related record is 'Type x' and the second related record is 'Type y'. That's incorrect, because there is a document 'Type y' for that contact.

So my question; how do I solve this?

Extra info; why these calculations?

I want to create a list of all contacts, where I can see quickly if the contact has an document 'Type x' and/or 'Type y'. Any suggestions are very welcome!

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: Multiple calculations from related table
          Extensitech