5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2015 1:45 PM by keywords

Modification Timestamp (excluding record updates by admin)

leighann

I would like to track modification of records by users of the database, but don't want to track modifications of records when performed by certain users (in admin roles).

I have an auto entry field for the account name when a record is modified.

I have an auto entry field for the time stamp when a record is modified.

I want to exclude myself from these modification auto entries (I'm an admin) and only track when a user modifies a record.

Is there a calculation or script that would change the modification time stamp & account name excluding modifications made by admins?

• 1. Re: Modification Timestamp (excluding record updates by admin)
          siplus

try the following autoentry:

field myModTime, autoenter modification time;

your autoenter timestamp field:

Let(trigger = myModTime ; If(Get(AccountName) = "Admin" ; Self ; Get(CurrentHostTimestamp)))

• 2. Re: Modification Timestamp (excluding record updates by admin)
            Mike_Mitchell

Leighann -

siplus has given you an answer that matches the question you asked. However, what is your actual use case? Are you wanting to suppress all modification timestamps whenever anyone logs in under the Admin account (which you should change; there's a vulnerability associated with the account name of "Admin")? Or are you really wanting to avoid the modification timestamp being damaged when you perform some sort of routine maintenance (like importing during a version migration)? Here's why I ask: Oftentimes, we'll be asked to "fix" something in the data. If you're relying on the modification timestamp for some sort of scripting, you could inadvertently suppress an update that should happen.

If that's not what you want, you can create a global field and use that in the calculation siplus provided:

Let (

trigger = myModTime ;