8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2016 7:00 AM by globe11123

Passing Information through a layout.

globe11123

I'm very new to FileMaker so I have been getting stuck for hours upon end doing something that is probably quite simple.

Basically in our company we start off by creating an account for a company, this will include all relevant information such as Company Name, Billing Addresses, Phone Numbers etc all the general shebang. Next we assign contacts to these accounts ( via company name ) and an account will have many contacts.

I have setup the layouts for Accounts and Contacts and the Tables. The relation between them is one to many, the Account_ID being a foreign key in the Contacts table which allows an account to have many contacts related to it. ( Correct me if I'm wrong )

I want to be able to on the Accounts page to create a contact which will be triggered by a script on a button that passes over the Accounts::Company to Contacts::Company.

I have tried creating a script and using the Set Field function but nothing passed over.

Or

When creating a new contact you have the Company field blank but a popover button allows you to pick a Company from the list of Company's related to the Accounts table.

Any help or guidance would be much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Passing Information through a layout.
          jgomes384

I believe you may be able to accomplish this via a portal in your Accounts layout. All you would need is to create the portal to Contacts and under the Relationships graph, turn on "Allow Creation of records in this table via this relationship" for Contacts. This will automatically pass over the AccountsKey and create the contact based on information input by the user.

Thanks,

Jason

• 2. Re: Passing Information through a layout.
            globe11123

I already have this but it would be nicer to have a small interface to type the contact details but ive tried this through a popover button but it didn't work.