CarstenLevin

Guides on hosted files are session only and lost when closing file

Discussion created by CarstenLevin on Dec 12, 2015
Latest reply on Mar 17, 2017 by dburnham

Product and version FileMaker Pro 14.0.4 - FileMaker Server 14.0v4

OS and version Mac OS X 10.9, 10.10 and 10.11, Windows 8, FileMaker Server 10.10 and Windows 12R2

Browser and version N/A

Description In a hosted file guides you right click on and share between layouts become "session guides" and are deleted/lost when you log out. This is very confusing for my FileMaker team at Codeo Denmark and Codeo Norway, and probably also for a few other who take UX/UI design consistency serious ... and who do therefore need the guides.

How to replicate With a hosted file, enter layout mode, create a guide, right click and choose to share. Close file, open again. All the many shared guides you set up are lost.

Workaround You can set shared guides when the file is not hosted and opened locally. But this is not solving the problem mentioned here. Please disable the feature to share, since the right phrase for it would be: "Delete this guide when you log out". I am not being sarcastic here, it could even be a feature that you can create temporary session only guides.


Best regards

 

Carsten

Outcomes