6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2015 2:14 AM by nicolai

Help with using filemaker api for php?

rj.rijo

hello my name is rijo, and im new to filemaker.

im referring this book - filemaker api for php 13 by Todd Duell.

i need help with the line of code which is given on page number 46,

PHP Script

<?php include ("../../dbaccess.php");

$request = $fm->newFindAllCommand('Demo php');

$result = $request->execute();

if (FileMaker::isError($result))

{

echo "<p>Error: " . $result->getMessage() . "</p>";

exit;

}

$records = $result->getRecords();

echo '<table border="1">

<tr>

<th>First Name</th>

<th>Last Name</th>

<th>Number Number</th>

<th>Date</th>

<th>Time Stamp</th>

<th>Calculation</th>

<th>Record ID</th>

</tr>';

foreach ($records as $record)

{

echo '<tr>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('FirstName') .'</td>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('LastName') . '</td>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('Number') . '</td>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('Date') . '</td>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('TimeStamp') .'</td>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('Calculation') .

'</td>';

echo '<td>' . $record->getField('RecordID') . '</td>';

echo '</tr>';

}

echo '</table>';

?>

i have some basic knowledge of php but im not able to understand the following line of code...

$request = $fm->newFindAllCommand('Demo php');

$result = $request->execute();

if (FileMaker::isError($result))

{

echo "<p>Error: " . $result->getMessage() . "</p>";

exit;

}

$records = $result->getRecords();

• 1. Re: Help with using filemaker api for php?
          hbrendel

I also have a very basic understanding of php, but I cannot imagine what it is you don't understand.

There's a request to find all records, if there would be an error this would be displayed, otherwise those records are loaded in a variable...

Please clarify.

• 2. Re: Help with using filemaker api for php?
            nicolai

I will try: