12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2015 12:05 PM by desireemm1

scanning documents

desireemm1

I am new to filemaker we currently have pro 11 I was wondering can the users scan a document and link it to a record in filemaker then when they want to see the file in pdf format they can click on to preview the documents.  is that possible in filemaker?

• 1. Re: scanning documents
          nicolai

There is no build in TWAIN scanner facility in FileMaker or any other database software I know of. You need to look at the plugins.

I used InsideScan a long time ago, but it has not been updated for ages. Troi has Grabber, but it is Windows only. I am sure there are others

If you do not use plugins, you might look if you can integrate with scanner software using VBScript or AppleScript, but this depends on how scriptable is your scanner software.

• 2. Re: scanning documents
            Mike_Mitchell

If you have access to iPad, iPhone, or iPod Touch devices, you can use the built-in camera and the container field features of FileMaker Go to accomplish this task. That's assuming you have your solution hosted on FileMaker Server (or you build a mobile version and sync it back).

• 3. Re: scanning documents
              monkeybreadsoftware

MBS Plugin has scan features.

You can try it.

• 4. Re: scanning documents
                desireemm1

We just want to scan a document into Filemaker, so when the user does data entry the pdf document would be part of the data entry. I just want a form that  that has a preview capablitlty for when the user click on the scanned document.  So basically they go to a record and not only are they seeing the data in the record they are also seeing a scanned file that goes with it?  I hope that makes sense

• 5. Re: scanning documents
                  schamblee

If you want to scan into FM then you will need a plug-in or other software to handle the scanning.  FM does not have the ability to scan documents built-in.