1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2015 3:29 PM by Mike_Mitchell

*main* e-mail field

jekins

Hey folks-

I'm new to FM and am trying to figure out how to make a calculated field in which it gets certain data from another table.

Specifically, I have a People table with a "Main Email" field.  I want this to be a stored, calculated field that looks at the Emails table (which consists of a "Person ID" foreign key, "Email", and "Is Main?" field.  I want the calculated field to take from the Email table the email address associated with the person which is marked "Is Main" (number using 1 like boolean).

If it were SQL I'd use a query like:
      SELECT Emails.Email

FROM Emails

WHERE 'Emails.Person ID' = 'People.Person ID'

But I have no idea how to get values from other tables using FM calculations.

Thanks for help,

Justin

• 1. Re: *main* e-mail field
          Mike_Mitchell

Justin -

Welcome to FileMaker! In the FileMaker world, data from related tables is shown in the current table through a couple of methods:

1) Simply showing the related field on the current layout.

2) Copying the data from the related field to the current field in the current table.

In many cases, you should use version 1, since this avoids duplicating data across tables (a violation of basic normalization procedures). For that, create a relationship on the Relationships Graph between, in your case, People and Emails, connecting Person ID to Person ID. Then you would just put the field "Emails::Main Email" on your Person layout. The advantage of doing this is that it will automatically reflect the data across if the email ever changes, and is preferable to using a calculation because of sorting and searching performance.