13 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2016 8:00 PM by BruceRobertson

Relationship problem- 2 instances of key field in 1 table

HughKendall

First, I apologize for my newbie-ness; I am an experienced Novice at Filemaker, but I can't write code, and I can create straitforward scripts, but not with loops, etc.  Nested 'if' statements is my limit.  I have looked through the forums and I can't find a thread that addresses my problem, or that lay it out in a way I can understand.

I have a simple database with 3 tables.  The purpose is to track the sterilization cycles of medical endoscopes, and their repair and maintenance.The machine that sterilizes the endoscopes can accommodate 2 endoscopes per cycle. Each time the machine is run, there is an endoscope in Slot A and another in Slot B.  I want to track both scopes in each cycle, so I can say not only how and when each scope was sterilized, but if there were an infection, be able to track what OTHER scope was in the machine with the suspect scope.

My first table is the ENDOSCOPES table, with fields for Scope serial number, series, purchase date and image.  The key field for relationships is Serial Number.  The attributes of the fields are as follows:

Endoscopes table screenshot.jpg

The next table is ENDOSCOPE CLEANING which has fields for the parameters of each cycle like temperature, timestamp, etc., and also a "SCOPE A" field, and a "SCOPE B" field.  All records in this table will have entries in the SCOPE A and SCOPE B field that are only populated from the ENDOSCOPES table, SCOPE SERIAL NUMBER field.(i.e. ENDOSCOPES::SCOPE SERIAL NUMBER).  The attributes of the fields in this table , and the relationship I defined, are below:

EndoscopeCleaningTable screenshot.jpg

fmprelationships.jpg

The last table is ENDOSCOPE MAINTENANCE, with fields including Scope Serial number, and the parameters of each maintenance encounter (date, problem, findings, party replaced, etc.)  The fields are as follows: