4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2016 7:26 AM by beverly

Preslug an answer document

bpedigo

I am a teacher, and I would like to use Filemaker to preslug answer documents (like a ScanTron form) for tests and competitions. For example, if the first number of a student ID is "1" [ in a calc field where IDpos1 = Left ( ID ; 1 ) ], I want a small rectangular shape (W:15pt, H:4pt, no line, solid black fill) to appear on the layout at Left: 43.5pt, Top:91.5pt to "bubble in" the corresponding rectangle.  However, if the first number of the student ID is "8", I would want the rectangular shape to appear on the layout at Left: 43.5pt, Top: 171.5pt. to fill in its corresponding rectangle

Is there a way to place such objects to a layout conditionally based on the data in the record?

I think I could almost figure a solution with a Value List and either a Checkbox set or Radio buttons set, except that I can't (or don't know how to) control the dimensions, fill, or spacing of those field behaviors with the precision I need in order to match the layout of the printed form.

Any help is appreciated.

• 1. Re: Preslug an answer document
          beverly

I can work up a demo if needed, but basically this is my tip:

1. create an object by typing a SPACE character on the layout. this will be "invisible".

2. set the fill color to black (or whatever color you need) - I say fill with color, so it's easier to find in Layout Mode

3. resize and reposition using Inspector (and/or manually) and LOCK, so that you don't accidentally type into the object again.

4. use Conditional Formatting to "hide" the object (change fill to none) based on your formula, for example

Left ( ID ; 1 ) ≠ 1 // HIDE when the value is NOT 1 - so it shows when the first character IS 1

Why this works: