11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2016 7:21 AM by RPeters

Value List - Limiting Results Based on the Date

RPeters

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Filemaker Community, so I hope you'll bear with me for this question.  I'm happy to read a link to another discussion if this has already been addressed.  I just couldn't find anything for the life of me!

Anyways, I work for a non-profit music festival.  I have an income list, where I keep track of who is donating money to what event.  The problem is that my event value list (based on the EventID) shows all of my events - ones that passed months ago, and ones that are upcoming.  Is it possible to limit that list?  When an event has passed more than a week ago, it would be amazing to not see it in the list.  I only want to see values of events that have passed up to 7 days ago, and events that are still upcoming.

I'm tracking a fair amount of information in my events, including the date.  I'm just not sure how to make that information useful in something like this.

I'm stumped, and super grateful for any advice!

-Rachael

• 1. Re: Value List - Limiting Results Based on the Date
          user19752

Make an unstored calculation field as

Get ( CurrentDate ) - 7

Then, make relation using it

theFiled <= eventDate

So you can make value list using the relation "only related values".

• 2. Re: Value List - Limiting Results Based on the Date
            RPeters

Okay, I understand the concept of what you mean, but I don't really understand how to go about creating it.  Which table do I create the calculation field in?

After that, I create a relationship... so that's connecting 'one' event date to 'many' of the newly created calculation field??  Is that correct?

Once I've created the relationship, I'm not sure how to create a value list with only related values.

Sorry to ask so many questions, I'm so new to Filemaker.  I'm finding it incredibly useful, but definitely challenging at times!